Belief Through the Coercion of Sentimentalism

If I remember correctly, in The Case for Christ, a man becomes Christian after being previously skeptical. I haven’t seen the video for a while, but I remember watching it as a Christian and experiencing something odd. While the “case” seemed compelling and historically intriguing, I was mystified by the idea that the man didn’t exactly change because of what he discovered, he changed for his wife. Apparently, she was distraught because she was a believer and he was not, and the family was falling apart. To rectify the situation, he endeavored to find evidence for the “Case for Christ.” Towards the end of the film, the man states something to the effect of, “How could I go on hurting my family, because I didn’t believe. Now that I do, look how happy we are.”

I find that I am in the same position in some ways, but there is a difference: I am not willing to abandon the truth because of sentimentalism.

Personally, I don’t think the man in The Case for Christ was ever skeptical, primarily because I know that Christian apologists utilize media to propagate a message just like any other group. Additionally, I find that while human beings do need each other in ways that are emotional and non-scientific, I don’t believe in the perpetuation of stagnant religious philosophy to do so.

"I'm sad because my husband won't conform to Christianity."

“I’m sad because my husband won’t conform to Christianity.”

This entry was posted in atheism, LIfe, movies, philosophy, Psychology, religion. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Belief Through the Coercion of Sentimentalism

  1. criticofchristianity says:

    Christians are relentless advertisers! The inspirational church music, the unity of the church, the way they make you feel guilty for nothing, the fake smiles and “how are you”s. It’s all designed to make us give in. They can’t swing us over with evidence and so they go for emotional manipulation.

  2. phtasmagoria says:

    The guilt trip is the worst.

    What’s funny is, my roommate, she loves me because of my great attitude, my helpfulness, my general conduct as a human being. As a heavy Christian, she has no idea I’m an Atheist; I haven’t felt the need to tell her.

    It begs the question: Why should I have to change for someone that does know I’m an Atheist?

    Cheers!

  3. unsavorytruths says:

    This post really tripped a cord within my head because its an idea I’ve been developing for a blog post. Then the comment above about Christians being the best advertisers just really reinforced this good post. Feel free to run with this just let your readers know I mentioned it first.

    The basic idea is that there are striking similarities between Coca Cola and Christianity. Both use sentimentality in its advertising, both had mythic folk origins which became usurped by huge megalithic institutions (a corporation in Coke’s case and by the government in Christianity’s case) and both seem to have a universal symbol which crosses all cultural boundaries.

  4. phtasmagoria says:

    And since Coca-Cola was originally laced with cocaine, both seek to function through mind-numbing properties that keep people from sensing reality.

    Thank you for pitching in. As current grad student, I am trying to keep this blog going, to do my part in the momentum of Atheism (a.k.a. pursuit of truth), in spite of being insanely busy.

Leave a Reply

