The Rapture: Humanity’s Greatest Threat

How can I not profess my thoughts, when this is what I have to look at on a daily basis?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Rapture is probably one of the strangest phenomenons to emerge from the annals of religious doctrine. Wikipedia defines it as “a term in Christian eschatology which refers to the ‘being caught up’ discussed in 1 Thessalonians 4:17, when the ‘dead in Christ’ and ‘we who are alive and remain’ will be ‘caught up in the clouds’ to meet ‘the Lord in the air.'”

My credulity had always been stretched when, at one point in time, I was supposed to believe that the Plagues of Egypt had actually occurred; but at a later date, when I heard a religionist speak his heart about belief in the Rapture, I really had to scratch my head and wonder what was going on. As I heard the declaration, I questioned reality. I felt like I was in a wide-awake dream, that what I was hearing was imaginary, something my brain had contrived to ease whatever I may have been going through at the time.

Eventually, I had to accept it. Said person truly believed in the Rapture, and I am astonished to this very day. Sometimes I want to bang my head against the wall and other times I just want to cry. When I see signs about the Rapture, though, posted on a major street in broad daylight, in the year 2013 as it is, I am simply stifled with bafflement; yet furthermore, I am a little miffed that people can pass it off as fact and gain tax-free financial rewards.

The anti-theist is at least polite in his mode of money marketing, with use of words like “probably.”

No God Probably

Here’s your corresponding J&M to ease the sting of it all:

J and M 10

This entry was posted in atheism, LIfe, philosophy, Psychology, religion, science. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Rapture: Humanity’s Greatest Threat

  1. makagutu says:

    I don’t know why they still have that somewhere but I think it should be obvious by now that the threat of rapture isn’t going to scare anyone anymore

  2. john zande says:

    I wish there were more…. Rapture predictions are hilarious.

  3. LEjames says:

    The togetherness here on the blog is filling my little heart with warmth, my cuppeth overfloweth.

    Cheers!

  4. feelingblind says:

    This made me think of “This Is the End” and how relevant it is to this post.

    • LEjames says:

      I believe you’re referring to that song by The Doors, popularized in Francis Ford Coppola’s Apocalypse Now. A profound song…even though it wasn’t actually the end (making it all the more relevant to this post)…well, for J.M. it was I guess.

  5. Arkenaten says:

    Thanks for the visit. Isn’t Christopher wonderful LOL!!
    I agree , the rapture is totally wackadoodle

    • LEjames says:

      Yes, Christopher’s hypothesis was quite the material for discussion, he was begging for it on that one. Brave of you to call him on it. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

