Because I’m Going to Hell

During my escapades about the blog-o-sphere a while back, I found a link that asks people if they “need God.” When asked if I thought I had broken any of God’s commandments, I answered that I wasn’t aware if I had. Here is their response:

Need God 1

The answer is startling for the conviction that “no one” has been able to keep the first commandment. Contrarily, I don’t see how I could be guilty since I don’t, in fact, worship any other gods, not even the god who apparently issued these commandments.

At any rate, the sudden proclamation that I was “GUILTY” prompted me with an additional question: Do I think I would go to heaven or hell? Me sensing the tension of a false accusation and conviction, and generally feeling like I am a good person, in addition to being provided with no other option, I decided to find out if these people would let me into their heaven. This action was based on the assumption that the god in question is presumably a forgiving god, and so I clicked that I thought, indeed, I would go to heaven. After all, I’ve got the pope’s blessing, right?

Need God 2

So that’s it then. Not only am I going to hell, but according to this website, it’s a determined FACT.

And so without further adieu, I will see y’all later as I make my preparations to head to hell!

This entry was posted in atheism, LIfe, philosophy, Psychology, religion. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Because I’m Going to Hell

  1. Well, I’d better pack my bikini and shorts. See ya in hell as well!

  2. I’ll join ya! haha! I find that a religion with an authoritarian view of belief (i.e. “Believe in me or perish eternally”) is antithetical to the purpose of spirituality – which is one’s personal quest for finding meaning in their life. Though I find nothing wrong with the desire to be religious or hold to a particular belief in a higher being of sorts, when that belief is pushed on others, it becomes a problem.

    • LEjames says:

      The “Believe me or perish eternally” staple is generally fused with the dictates of certain religions; that is, believers are ordered by their holy text to go forth and convert. This is why religion has been and is increasingly a problem in the modern age.

      I understand your point though, glad you brought it up.

      • Thanks for the reply. The great desire that many followers of the Abrahamic religions have to convert others has always bothered me. The eastern religions of Hinduism, Buddhism, and others don’t do it; they know if someone wants to follow their religion, they’ll do it on their own. Just let people be.

  3. john zande says:

    I’ll see you at the bus stop. Bring cake, i’ll handle the drinks :)

  4. Alice says:

    That sounds exactly like Ray Comfort and Kirk Cameron’s Way of the Master script. I wonder if it is them.

  5. LEjames says:

    I didn’t read the about pages, but it’s a popular kind of evangelism I have seen before: The hypothetical questions, the assumptions, and of course, the coercive language. I imagine you’ve heard this sort of thing before?

    I wonder how this all might fit in with the progress you are making, if you don’t mind my asking.

    • Alice says:

      Oh yeah, I was even known to (try to) participate in it. I know that my blog can be confusing for anyone just jumping right in. I’m in the middle of telling my (for lack of a better term) deconversion story. It just happens to be taking me a long time:)

      • LEjames says:

        After looking through more of your blog, I understand a little more clearly. Of note is the division that gets created in the process of these kinds of situations, as seen in the one person who thought what you are going through is sad, and how she threw out the “you’re not getting into heaven” comment.

        It’s not an easy situation, but I look forward to reading more about your experience.

  6. Boomslang says:

    I don’t know whether to laugh or cry. These people evidently don’t see the false dichotomy here..i.e..you either get “heaven”, or you get “hell”, those are the choices, and if you can’t force yourself to believe that Christianity and its handbook full of wizards, witches, virgin births, zombies, raining frogs, and snakes, shrubs, and donkeys that speak the human language, then you pick “hell”, by default. So, I guess such nonsense is amusing on the one hand, but the other, it’s sad because they are victims of indoctrination.

  7. paarsurrey says:

    Hi
    Thanks for visiting my blog and reading the post “Is Islam based on the historical validity of the Pentateuch?”

    Regards

    You need not go to hell; heaven is open to all.

  8. Daniel Digby says:

    I’m looking forward to meeting you there. I’m curious where NeedGod.com gets the impression that God is good. Have they skipped the entire old testament?

    • LEjames says:

      “I’m curious where NeedGod.com gets the impression that God is good.”

      It’s part of their promotional interpretive method, kind of like how a spokesman for a politician functions.

      Thank you for visiting, Daniel, I saw your blog and that link about the Ark is simply sensational.

Leave a Reply

