Contagion: Evangelized by Mail

I went to check my post office box the other day and was surprised to find a book waiting for me. “That’s funny,” I thought, “I don’t recall ordering anything.” After examining the item I quickly realized, I’d been smitten, tagged, singled-out. That’s right, I had been evangelized-by-mail. In this modern age, you could say that I was spammed.

Evan 1

A tactical note about the ministry who targeted me lies in the title of their evangelical enterprise, Amazing Facts. Their website can be found here: http://www.amazingfacts.org/

Facts?

Evan 2

I am tempted to begin by addressing the people who felt so compelled to pay immense amounts of money so that I could receive this book, but I’m more compelled to consider the “legacy” that touches America that they speak of. You know, how the Christians fled from Europe in the name of religious liberty, only to obliterate the Native Americans and their way of life. The legacy of Christianity rests in its attributes as a contagion, a level four virus to be eradicated by the CDC.

This, of course, is apart from the propaganda of this particular book, of having “so little time left.” Little time left? The modern age is progressing and is in full swing. To be “accurate,” in line with the language these people like to use, not only is there more than enough time, but a universe of opportunities lies before mankind like never before. My fear is whether or not we will realize ours successes before religion ruins it all.

Evan 3

“Drawing upon lessons from history as well as Bible prophecy…”

This is how the game has to be played with religionists, and it’s deadly. The mixing of history with fiction writing (prophecy) is one of the most vile tools at the disposal of religionists. Fusing the two together causes people to react in ways that is unnecessary, because it is misleading, and dangerous, because people are gullible and will act on proclamations that incite fear.

Scaring people with end times propaganda has to be stopped.

This kind of thing explains why I don’t always fully adhere to the mantra, “Everyone should believe what they want, it’s a free world, so long as one person’s belief doesn’t hurt another.” Do I care what people believe in their homes, in their hearts? No. Do I care when groups get together to stir enmity and paranoia on behalf of religious doctrine? Yes.

Evan 4

Evan 5

Evan 6

The advertisements to the book claim accuracy, the producers claim amazing facts, and here we are — mid-text — reading about Satan as though he were a real individual.

I guess, in this manner, I shouldn’t be too worried then. I mean, no one actually believes in the Devil, do they?

Do they?

What should I do with the book?
a) donate it to Good Will — paper recycling bind
b) read it carefully and spread the message, now that I know the “facts”
c) use it to light my barbecue
d) make origami

This entry was posted in atheism, LIfe, philosophy, Politics, Psychology, religion, science and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Contagion: Evangelized by Mail

  1. adamlaredo says:

    I’d never recommend burning a book … Normally. Recycle it.

    • LEjames says:

      Right. Stirs up images of Nazis burning books. I’d like to think they were doing so wastefully, whereas the flames I’d stir would at least cook food, but I hear you.

      As for recycling, you’re correct. If I took it to goodwill, I’d just be doing their work for them.

      Into the bind for paper recycling it goes.

  2. sandradan1 says:

    Do you think anyone would believe it? SD

  3. Alice says:

    It’s an $11.95 value:)

Leave a Reply

