Christopher Hitchens Documentary

In my browsing activity the other day, I ran across this video. For some reason I knew I wanted watch it, though I admit I had to work on some things as it played. One thing I noticed was that the video was not produced by some heavy duty broadcasting company. The video-maker states that he was looking for a video to be released, but that nothing had ever materialized. So he made one for himself. And he did a very good job.

I rather appreciated the fact that much of the video is of “The Hitch” speaking himself. In this manner, I felt like I was getting to know him on a personal level. As any relatively new Atheist might experience, I’d seen some videos of him and liked some of the things he was saying, but I’ve never had the time to read any of his books. Watching this video made me think about this man for more than the usual two or three minute brush-through. As a result, I learned something about him.

He was a man, like many of us, who became a different person after 9/11.

9-11

I can appreciate the fact that a man like Hitchens caught on to ideas about criticizing the presence of religion in our modern day world. Me, personally, after 9/11, I didn’t go atheistic. In fact, I had to go down that route believing that one religion is actually the correct one — over all the others — before I realized I was fooling myself.

At any rate, the documentary shows how The Hitch reacted and what he became following the beyond-traumatizing events of 9/11. What I saw in him was a man trying to enact a force for good, by means of uncovering the BS of which all religion is comprised. (I use the term “BS” to denote how the blending of fictional stories, cult leadership and biased philosophical teachings about human behavior causes problems for humanity.) His arguments, of course, tend to force a line to be drawn between those who are Atheists and those who are Anti-Theists, but whose fault is that?

Osama

[This photo comes from a two disc documentary that covers in extended length the events surrounding 9/11. They can be found here and here. They are informative, gripping, frightening and disturbing documentaries to watch, but most of all, they’re plain depressing. In spite of all that, I actually had to watch both of them more than once just to try and get my mind to comprehend the insanity, though I can’t say I did so with any measure of success.]

The way I see matters, religion has warped and twisted the minds of so many people that I find it difficult to consider why Anti-Theism would not arise. I am a little on the fence between being atheistic and anti-theistic, and I have ample reasons to be either, but I thank people like The Hitch for the bravery and outspokenness to contend openly with the power of oppressive religion. It seems to me that an Atheist like Hitchens was carving a path to local, national and international clarity about matters of the religious, and the documentary shows him carving that path with a subtle verve that I believe, no broadcasting company could have produced.

Hitchens 1

This entry was posted in atheism, LIfe, philosophy, Politics, Psychology, religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Christopher Hitchens Documentary

  1. Alice says:

    I watched that documentary a couple of weeks ago, too. I liked it very much for the same reasons you stated.

    • LEjames says:

      I think he’s probably the only person I can think of that, if he’d toured in my area, I would’ve actually made the effort to go and see him speak, buy a book, ask for an autograph.

  2. He was one of the best. I’ve probably watched every debate on youtube at least twice, from debates on the death penalty, the rights of the Elgin Marbles, and of course debates centered on religion. A brilliant, blunt man.

  3. I haven’t seen that documentary, but I love watching Hitch debate. The guy was a smoking gun. His mind was so sharp.

    • LEjames says:

      He’s been a beacon of rational thinking for me, much to the extent that I’m thinking of investing in one of his more recent books so that I can scrutinize the extent of his point of view.

      Thank you for visiting…

  4. invictus587 says:

    Reblogged this on invictus587 and commented:
    Just something I found…still want to watch it but haven’t. It’s the kind of thing I have to be emotionally ready for. But I’m glad I found it nonetheless. :-)

  5. Great post and a great video on a man I love, admire, and miss very much.

  6. orangelolita says:

    Thank you for pointing out this documentary. I certainly must watch it now. For me Hitchens was the one person who truly made me feel like there was nothing reproachable in being an atheist. I’ve read his book ‘God is not great’, and certainly recommend it. He is just as sharp on paper as he is in debates. I was very sorry to see him slowly being overtaken by his illness, but I think he managed to spread a lot of good while he was alive.

    • LEjames says:

      Yes, if you haven’t seen this, I strongly recommend setting aside the time to do so. The documentary maker here really did something unique, though I suggest keeping a box of tissues handy as the narrative comes to a close.

      Thank you for being brave about your Atheism and for allowing the Hitch to bolster that courage, and I certainly look forward to reading what’s going on over in your section of the Internet.

  7. Merry Hitchmas! Love The Hitch.

  8. thegirlinthefireplace82 says:

    Thanks for posting this as I didn’t know about this documentary and I love Hitch, will be watching it later. Great post about a great man, very much missed.

Leave a Reply

